Extraordinary Council Meeting Minutes

Commenced 6:35pmMONDAY, 7 MARCH 2016Present:Cr Stephen Aguis (Mayor), Cr Nick Katris, Cr Lachlan McLean,
Cr Michael Platt, Cr Annie Tang (Deputy Mayor), Cr Sam
Stratikopoulos, Cr Kathryn Landsberry, Cr Nickolas Varvaris (Emeritus
Mayor), Cr George Katsabaris, Cr Nick Aroney and Cr Jacinta Petroni.In Attendance:Paul Woods (General Manager), Evan Hutchings (Director Governance
and Corporate Services), Rod Logan (Director Planning and
Environmental Services), Andrew Sharp (Director Assets and Services),
Cathryn Bush (Manager Governance) and Lynne Denham (Minute
Secretary).

A. Apologies

An apology was received on behalf of Councillor Nathaniel Smith.

13/2016	Resolved:	(Varvaris/Katsabaris)
---------	-----------	-----------------------

That the apology be accepted and leave of absence granted.

B. Disclosures of Interest

There were no Disclosures of Interest.

	C.	Motions of Which Notice Has Been Given
1.	Subject:	Proposal for the amalgamation of the Kogarah, Hurstville and Rockdale (excluding the airport) Local Government Areas
	Author:	Councillor Nickolas Varvaris (Emeritus Mayor)
14/2016	Resolved:	(Varvaris/Platt)
	That pursuant to Section 218E of the Local Government Act 1993, Kogarah City Council make a proposal to the Minister for Local Government, the Hon Paul Toole MP, for the amalgamation of the Kogarah, Hurstville and Rockdale (excluding the airport) Local Government Areas.	

Speakers for the Motion:	Councillor Nickolas Varvaris (Emeritus Mayor). Councillor Nick Katris. Councillor Annie Tang (Deputy Mayor). Councillor Michael Platt.
Speakers against the Motion:	Councillor Jacinta Petroni. Councillor Kathryn Landsberry. Councillor Lachlan McLean.

The meeting closed at 7.19 pm.

Confirmed on Tuesday, 29 March 2016

Councillor Stephen Agius Mayor Paul Woods General Manager